menu-bg

Customer Reviews

May 2016

 

We had a good time in Gigny, the weather was great so we could really enjoy the outsides. The house was clean and lovely furnished The countryside all around is really quiet. We went to cardoland (1hour drive) to see the dinosaurs, but mainly stayed at home the other day, just relaxing. The kids really enjoyed the playground. They played a lot in the little house as we could rest and read quietly in the sunshine in the meantime. So this was perfect! They also enjoyed the chicken and the eggs were delicious. Thanks for everything ! Clementine from Lyon

My Response

 

Thank you Clementine we are glad that you all had a relaxing time and look forward to meeting you all again in the future  Julie and Paul

Edit your Response

 

September 2016

 

We really liked our stay in the Old Cafe! The house is very spacious, with a living/dining area, a cosy sitting room for the evenings and a seperate kitchen. Also the rooms upstairs have a really good size. In every room it is possible to fit an extra bed or cot without any problem. All the house is very nice decoreated as well! The garden is a real children's Paradise! Our little ones from 2,5y and 3y enjoyed the back garden a lot, with the swings, the little bikes, the treehouse and the trampoline. Everywhere Julie and Paul created sitting areas. We even used twice the swimming pool during our stay (yes, even so late in the season)! The pool is also very nice and has a good size. Also the environment of the Old Café offers a lot for everyone. After every corner a new splendid view and a cute little village! We visited some wine caves to taste and buy Chablis (just ring at the door), loved the medieval villages of Flavigny-sur-Serein (anis candy!) and Noyers, visited the splendid properties of Abbay de Fontenay and Tanlay chateau and had good times visiting Auxerre, Chatillon-sur-Seine and Tonnere. The restaurants in the region all offer very nice lunch menus at incredible prices (13/15 euro for a set 3 course menu). We loved Le Maronnier in Buffon, La Grange (Flavigny) and La crêperie du Port (Tanlay). Also very nice restaurants in Noyer! The bakery in Laignes is not bad at all for morning bread. For something special, try the bakery "la tentation" in Tonnerre. Overall, we are very satisfied with our stay in the Old Cafe and are certainly thinking of coming back. One tip: if the washing machine in the kitchen would be replaced by a dishwasher, the kitchen would be perfect :)

My Response

 

Thank you Inge and family, it was a pleasure to have you here. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you managed to explore so much of the surrounding area. We look forward to hopefully seeing you all again.  Paul and Julie

Edit your Response

 

 

.Dear Julie & Paul - What a brilliant four days we've had at The Old Cafe. The gite is beautiful, the beds really comfy and the welcome basket, wine and cold beers were just what we needed. Harriet had great fun, swimming, playing pool and table tennis and James and I had fun wine tasting!! We had everything we needed for a really relaxing time. Thankyou so much. Rating 5 out of 5, Leonie, James & Harriet, Aug 2013.

 

Firstly thanks to Julie & Paul for the warm welcome and the great welcome basket! Was a bit apprehensive about visiting a rural location with this being our first gite holiday. However any concerns were very quickly dispelled. The gite exceded our expectations. It was very clean, the decor was on point and the kids were very happy. Dillon (6 yrs) loved the pool, Frankie (3 yrs) loved the park at the end of the garden and Finlay (8 yrs) loved everything! Mum & Dad loved how safe & child friendly the gite/gardens/pool was. We all felt very much at home and me, Richard(40 yrs) enjoyed the fresh eggs & veg that appeared on our table. Leeann (36 yrs & counting) loved the fact that she could relax as everyone was happy. We would love to come back next year. Rating 5 out of 5, Richard, Leeann, Finlay, Dillon and Frankie, Aug 2013

 

Gigny is a small village very well positioned to visit Alesia (Gallo Roman site), Nigloland theme park, Noyes (Medieval village), Ancy Le Franc (chateau and village market),and Chablis - Sunday morning market. The Old Cafe is very tastefully decorated with colour co-ordinated rooms including linen and towels. The swimming pool is small but perfectly adequate for a quick swim. The games barn also contains a pool table and table tennis and so there is plenty to entertain the children while you relax. For young children there are trikes. We would definitely recommend this spacious gite with friendly on-site owners who are unobtrusive but very generous (fresh eggs from the hens)! Rating 5 out of 5, Susan, Aug 2013

 

We had a very nice holiday, Gigny is a good point to start many adventures like seeing Paris, Auxerre, Noyers sur sereine. We also enjoyed the very nice house, the sunny weather and the pool. You were always friendly and helpful. Thankyou Julie and Paul for our stay in Burgundy. Any time again !! Rating 5 out of 5, Family Tschabold Riehen Switzerland, Jul 2013.

 

Thankyou for the warmest welcome in this beautiful house! We had a great week and could not have felt more at home, its just a pity it has to come to an end! So much to see and do and a wonderful house (and pool!!) to come back to at the end of each "adventure". We will recommend this beautiful corner of France, and especially this house to friends and family and hope to make a return journey ourselves before long. Wishing you continued success and our thanks again for your superb hospitality. Rating 5 out of 5. Dermot, Aoife, Maureen, Sean, Bridie and Elijah xx Jul 2013

 

We did not know how sunny, hot and cloudless Burgundy could be. The whole family spent most of the week in the fantastic pool where the kids had great fun inventing new games especially climbing on their father. Thankyou Paul & Julie for the comfortable and beautiful home, for the welcome basket that fought our hunger for two days. Thankyou for your patience towards us noisy germans. Rating 5 out of 5. Joern and family from germany. Jul 2013

 

The Old Cafe, as it is named by the owners, is an amazing experience of French living and Burgundian charm. The property's stone structure that is warmed by the country sunlight carries hints of all the French dreams you were told as a child. The rooms are extremely clean and the decor simply elegant. The space is perfect for a family (we had two children along ). The grounds are pure French country charm. There is a lady in the town that sells fresh homemade cheese from the famous white cows of Burgandy ( highly recommended for you cheese connosuers ! ) While these are all a treat to the senses, the true charm comes from the innkeepers, Julie and Paul. We LOVED staying at their inn, but really enjoyed their company to the extent that we dined with them twice in the week we were there. They are both so kind and gracious. As is printed on their wall " May all who enter as guests, leave as friends," is not just a sentimental hope, but a realized truth. In short, we could not have had a better stay! We hope to return and relive the glories of Burgandy in this fantastic place. Rating 5 out of 5, Nick & Heidi (USA), Jun 2013.

 

A stunningly beautiful gite in a lovely part of France! The Gite itself was very large with a well fitted kitchen, many original features including a log burning stove which we used on several occasions - very cosy. All the bedrooms were fitted and decorated to a high standard with plenty of storage. The garden grounds are stunning and the kids loved the games room and swimming pool. Nigloland, was a great family day out - our kids had a fab time - it is a well maintained and clean theme park. Although Julie & Paul live on site, it was a very private holiday. Julie & Paul are a lovely couple and could not do enough to help us. Thank you for a lovely holiday. Rating 5 out of 5, The Burns family, Jun 2013